All Things Cease to Appear

Written by Elizabeth Brundage — While All Things Cease to Appear does have a suspicious death and violence in it, this book is far, far…

  • 0

Death Do Us Part

Written by Steven Dunne — Detective Inspector Damen Brook of Derby CID is back, with a new case and a new set of troubles. An old couple…

  • 0

Angel

Written by Anita Waller — A good measure of how much a book affects you is how much of it stays with you months, or…

  • 0

The Detective and the Devil

Written by Lloyd Shepherd — Melding real life and fiction is a delicate balancing act, but one that Lloyd Shepherd has successfully pulled off in three…

  • 0

Die of Shame

Written by Mark Billingham — Mark Billingham is celebrated for his long-running police procedural series featuring the London detective Tom Thorne. Like all good writers, however, he…

  • 0

It all drops on 5 May

On the Radar — 5 May is a big date on the publishing calendar, with a range of big releases landing and plenty of smaller…

  • 0

Little Sister

Written by David Hewson — This third police procedural in Hewson’s Netherlands series again features Amsterdam police brigadier Pieter Vos and his misfit Frieslander colleague,…

  • 0

A big year for Ian Rankin, and Rebus

Today we say happy 56th birthday to Ian Rankin, and the date also marks the first appearance of Rebus in 1987. “It was 28 April. Wet, naturally,…

  • 0

In Too Deep

Written by Samantha Hayes — There has been a veritable avalanche of domestic noir recently – family-based psychological crime novels – and in such a crowded market, it…

  • 0

Distress Signals

Written by Catherine Ryan Howard — Some books arrive at CFL HQ in a standard padded envelope. Others appear dressed to the nines, and that’s…

  • 2

Agatha Christie: The graphic novel

The independent publisher Self Made Hero is set to release a graphic novel perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, which goes on sale 10 May. Agatha:…

  • 0

Death Zones

Written by Simon Pasternak, translated by Martin Aitken — This bleak novel is set towards the end of World War II, as the Nazi offensive…

  • 1

Win CSI Season 15 on DVD!

Today sees the UK release of CSI: The Complete Season 15 on DVD, and to celebrate we’re giving away the full set on our Facebook page.…

  • 0

A Fine House in Trinity

Written by Lesley Kelly — Remember the old saying ‘you can choose your friends, but you can’t choose your family’? Well, what if you have…

  • 0

Abigale Hall

Written by Lauren A Forry — London, spring 1947. Bombed out houses stand like rotten teeth in an old man’s jaw, and the city is recovering from…

  • 0

Interview: Chet Williamson

Robert Bloch’s 1959 novel, Psycho, is one of the most influential in crime fiction. It was the basis for Alfred Hitchcock’s seminal film the following…

  • 1