The Thirst

Written by Jo Nesbo, translated by Neil Smith — The tagline says it all: Harry Hole is back! For those following the ten-book series featuring the dour,…

The Red Road

Written by Denise Mina, narrated by Cathleen McCarron — Denise Mina has earned her place among Scotland’s most distinguished authors. This award-winning novel about the long,…

Faithless

Written by Kjell Ola Dahl, translated by Don Bartlett — Despite the unabated passion for Scandinavian crime fiction, Norwegian author Kjell Ola Dahl is not…

The Keeper

Written by Alastair Gunn — DCI Antonia Hawkins is thrown into her next case when the body of a man is found by some metal detectorists.…

Ill Will

Written by Dan Chaon — Past and present crimes haunt the two main protagonists of this beautifully crafted new literary thriller. In the present day,…

Wild Chamber

Christopher Folwer’s Bryant and May series reaches its 12th novel, but seems as fresh as ever. The powers that be want to close down the…

Lola

Written by Melissa Scrivner Love — Lola, the energetic protagonist of this Los Angeles-based crime thriller, is an eminently likeable young woman, flirting with death at…

Wild Chamber

Written by Christopher Fowler — Last year Christopher Fowler won the prestigious CWA Dagger in the Library award which recognises a significant body of work, as…

Dark Asylum

Written by ES Thomson — Angel Meadow Asylum is a grim place even by the standards of 1851 London. Jem Flockhart is on the scene when…

Vicious Circle

Written by CJ Box — From Alaska‘s misfits to Norwegian serial killers, and all the way to the Russian steppes, there are many flavours of…

A Darkness Absolute

Written by Kelley Armstrong — As A Darkness Absolute opens, Detective Casey Duncan and her colleague Deputy Will Anders are on snowmobiles roaming the Canadian wilderness…

Ed’s Dead

Written by Russel D McLean — Jen Carter, the young Glaswegian bookstore clerk who narrates this book, makes one tiny mistake at the novel’s outset.…

The Killing Bay

Written by Chris Ould — The Blood Strand, the first book in Ould’s Faroes series, was recommended for fans of Henning Mankell and Elizabeth George. The Killing…

Interview: Chris Ould interviewed

When you’ve explored crime fiction from Sweden, Norway, Denmark and Finland, there’s always Iceland to extend your horizons. But where can the lover of Nordic…

  • Published in Features

All Kinds of Dead

Written by James Craig — The first Inspector Carlyle novel came out in 2011 and already the ninth in the series has arrived. At the same…