Lola

Written by Melissa Scrivner Love — Lola, the energetic protagonist of this Los Angeles-based crime thriller, is an eminently likeable young woman, flirting with death at…

Wild Chamber

Written by Christopher Fowler — Last year Christopher Fowler won the prestigious CWA Dagger in the Library award which recognises a significant body of work, as…

Dark Asylum

Written by ES Thomson — Angel Meadow Asylum is a grim place even by the standards of 1851 London. Jem Flockhart is on the scene when…

Vicious Circle

Written by CJ Box — From Alaska‘s misfits to Norwegian serial killers, and all the way to the Russian steppes, there are many flavours of…

A Darkness Absolute

Written by Kelley Armstrong — As A Darkness Absolute opens, Detective Casey Duncan and her colleague Deputy Will Anders are on snowmobiles roaming the Canadian wilderness…

Ed’s Dead

Written by Russel D McLean — Jen Carter, the young Glaswegian bookstore clerk who narrates this book, makes one tiny mistake at the novel’s outset.…

The Killing Bay

Written by Chris Ould — The Blood Strand, the first book in Ould’s Faroes series, was recommended for fans of Henning Mankell and Elizabeth George. The Killing…

Interview: Chris Ould interviewed

When you’ve explored crime fiction from Sweden, Norway, Denmark and Finland, there’s always Iceland to extend your horizons. But where can the lover of Nordic…

  • Published in Features

All Kinds of Dead

Written by James Craig — The first Inspector Carlyle novel came out in 2011 and already the ninth in the series has arrived. At the same…

What You Break

Written by Reed Farrel Coleman — The latest crime novel by Reed Farrel Coleman features his retired Suffolk County cop John Augustus (Gus) Murphy, first introduced in last…

Blue Light Yokohama

Written by Nicolas Obregon – What an entertaining debut! Told almost exclusively from the perspective of Tokyo Metropolitan Police Department Inspector Kosuke Iwata, it’s a…

Watch Her Disappear

Written by Eva Dolan — When we reviewed our former contributor Eva Dolan’s first novel, Long Way Home, in 2014, she was the new voice in…

The Girl Before

Written by JP Delaney — The classic novel 1984 was published 68 years ago and I wonder what George Orwell would make of today’s society, with CCTV,…

The Idol of Mombasa

Written By Annamaria Altieri — Set in 1912 in the British Protectorate of East Africa (now Kenya), The Idol of Mombasa is Alfieri’s second novel featuring Justin and…

Jericho Road

Written by Douglas Watkinson — Nathan Hawk. The name conjures up a superhero or a big, bruising, bad guy, doesn’t it? Sorry to disappoint –…

Burning Bright

Written by Nick Petrie — Nick Petrie’s debut, The Drifter, was our favourite first novel of 2016. So, 2017 starts with a bang for the…