Ill Will

Written by Dan Chaon — Past and present crimes haunt the two main protagonists of this beautifully crafted new literary thriller. In the present day,…

All Things Cease to Appear

Written by Elizabeth Brundage, this book watches a drama unfold over many years. Part rural noir, part Gothic horror, with just a powdering of the…

The German Messenger

Written by David Malcolm — England, December 1916. The most destructive battle in world history has finally ended at the Somme and Europe is in the…

Jihadi: A Love Story

Yusuf Toropov’s novel deals with topics that may seem more at home on the pages of the daily papers – like terrorism and torture. Told alternately by the…

Dodgers

Written by Bill Beverly — A modern crime classic in the tradition of Richard Price’s Clockers, Dodgers is the story of a youthful soldier in…

Jihadi: A Love Story

Written by Yusuf Toropov — The word ‘jihadi’ conjures up a very distinct image in the minds of most westerners: masked men in the desert clutching AK-47s,…

Where It Hurts

Written by Reed Farrel Coleman — Coleman’s Moe Prager series of novels brought him considerable critical acclaim. The James Deans alone won the Anthony, Barry, and…

The Long Fire

Written by Meghan Tifft — This sparkling debut mystery is narrated by the book’s protagonist, Natalie Krupin, a 27-year-old woman adrift in a hazy, smoke-obscured world…

Hunters in the Dark

Written by Lawrence Osborne — With its double identities and air of brooding menace, Hunters in the Dark is a literary thriller that’s earned comparisons to…

Hold the Dark audiobook

Written by William Giraldi, narrated by Richard Ferrone — The essentials of William Giraldi’s icy thriller were covered in our review of the book, which you’ll…