The Killing Bay

Written by Chris Ould — The Blood Strand, the first book in Ould’s Faroes series, was recommended for fans of Henning Mankell and Elizabeth George. The Killing…

Interview: Chris Ould interviewed

When you’ve explored crime fiction from Sweden, Norway, Denmark and Finland, there’s always Iceland to extend your horizons. But where can the lover of Nordic…

The Truth Itself

Written by Roger Smith writing as James Rayburn — The South African crime novelist Roger Smith has written under a pseudonym before. In 2012 he wrote…

Agents of the State

Written by Mike Nicol — The Rainbow Nation is developing a well- deserved reputation for excellent crime fiction. Perhaps it’s not surprising since its unfortunate history provides…

Snatch

Written by Gregory Mcdonald — Gregory Mcdonald (1937-2008) was an American journalist and mystery novelist best known for his satirical novels featuring the irreverent journalist Irwin…

The Jealous Kind

Written by James Lee Burke — In this latest stand alone novel, one of America’s most celebrated crime fiction novelists transports us back to 1950s Houston.…

The Nowhere Man

Written by Gregg Hurwitz — There was considerable interest in Orphan X, the first book in Gregg Hurwitz‘s Evan Smoak series, which rocketed up the…

Hell is Empty

Written by Conrad Williams — Hell is Empty completes the trilogy of Joel Sorrell novels that began with Dust and Desire last year followed by Sonata of…

NTN: Bitter Water Blues

Written by Patrick Shawn Bagley — Brooklyn, 2005, is where things begin in Patrick Shawn Bagley’s debut, published by indie outfit 280 Steps. Joey Connolly is…

CIS: Debt to Pay

Written by Reed Farrel Coleman – Robert B Parker may have passed away in 2010, but thanks to writers like Ace Atkins and now Reed Farrel…

Rise the Dark

Written by Michael Koryta – With last year’s novel, Last Words, Koryta introduced us to his new series character Mark Novak, an investigator for a…

Underground Airlines

Written by Ben H Winters – American journalist and teacher Ben H Winters started out writing the kind of literary mash-ups that were en vogue around the…

Dark Heart, Heavy Soul

Written by Keith Nixon — Yes, the author is a contributor here on Crime Fiction Lover, but don’t worry, that doesn’t mean he gets an easy…