Quantcast
//

Archive for June, 2012

Golf, Lawrence Block, morgues and manners

welcometotherealworld

Lawrence Block with a cigar. I’ll buy that for a dollar. Lawrence Block drinking a whiskey on the rocks. You can have a buck for that too. But Lawrence Block on the golf course. Nah, I’m not buyin it. Well, actually you don’t need a dollar for that one, because unbelievable as it sounds Lawrence[...]

The Storm Without

thestormwithout

Written by Tony Black – ‘Irvine Welsh’s favourite British crime writer.’ That is one hell of plaudit to live up to, but Tony Black has proven time and again that he is fully deserving of it. He’s a writer with an unflinching eye for brutality, adept at spinning out stories of lowlife transgression which often[...]

Slip & Fall

slipandfall

Written by Nick Santora – Creative writing courses consistently tell their charges to write what you know. Nick Santora used to be a lawyer. Hopefully he’s never been a Mafioso, but after a career change he became a screenwriter on shows like The Sopranos and Prison Break. So his first novel, about a lawyer who[...]

Perfect People, CJ Lyons, the IRA and silver tongues

blindfaith100

On the radar – This week our radar has gone into overdrive – it’s picking up powerful signals from some great new releases on the way. The flamboyant novelest and Crime Writer’s Association chairman Peter James is in attendance, we’ll be off to the South of France for a murder, and meet a widow searching[...]

Interview: Ariel S Winter

arielswinter

Ariel S Winter’s first novel The Twenty-Year Death is bound to appeal to fans of the mid-20th century noir and hardboiled crime fiction we often cover on the site. Formerly a librarian, a bookseller and even a pie man, he’s now the published author he wanted to become. And The Twenty-Year Death sounds like a[...]

Burning Midnight

burningmidnight

Written by Loren D Estleman – With more than 20 written over a 30-year period, the Amos Walker books must represent one of the longest running private eye series ever. Based in Estleman’s Detroit, with frequent trips into fictional Iroquois Heights, Walker is a PI in the classic mode, right down to his cigarettes and[...]

The Book of Souls

bookofsouls

Written by James Oswald – James Oswald’s first foray into crime fiction, Natural Causes, has become a bona fide word-of-mouth hit. With over 100,000 downloads in a couple of months it dominated the Kindle free chart and received rave reviews. That all of this was achieved with no advertising campaign and a minimal online presence[...]

House Blood: A Joe DeMarco Thriller

houseblood

Written by Mike Lawson –  House Blood is Mike Lawson’s seventh Joe DeMarco thriller. DeMarco is a dogged, if not heroic, protagonist, and House Blood is fresh and filled with tension. Joe DeMarco is a lawyer who works for member of Congress John Mahoney. In House Blood, Mahoney is no longer Speaker of the House, but[...]

Euro 2012: the Crime Fiction Lover standings

euromain

Have you been watching the Euro 2012 football championship? It seems to have been a little more interesting than some of the other recent international competitions, with a less hype and some good contests. The other day we were looking at the list of countries that have been competing in the tournament and wondering if,[...]

Do you judge a crime book by its cover?

dandygilvercorpses

They say you should never judge a book by its cover and most of the time that’s true. I don’t know about you but when I look at most thrillers these day’s I’m pretty un-thrilled. I’m not going to name and shame but I’ve read quite a few books in the last year or so[...]

Interview: James Oswald

jamesoswald

If you’re one of the 100,000 people who downloaded James Oswald’s book Natural Causes last month you’ll already understand why he’s been such a hit. He writes supernatural-tinged crime novels that seem perfect for fans of authors like Will Carver. Dark and complex, Oswald’s writing reaches out and grabs you by the throat. This weekend[...]

Talking to the Dead

talkingtothedead

Written by Harry Bingham – DC Fiona Griffiths is a complete oddity in the ranks of the South Wales Police. She studied philosophy at Cambridge, neither smokes nor drinks, has a father with a distinctly criminal background and appears to be like a fish out of water in the male-dominated atmosphere of the briefing room.[...]

Archives

Amazon Prime